Thoughts on WL Product

MikeyInsurance

Once again, I'm new to the biz. I just wanted to hear some thoughts on whole life. I get that for some people WL is a great product but for a majority it's not. The company I work for pushes straight whole life. No matter what the prospects needs are -- they want us to sell them whole life. They don't even want us to offer them term because it's not nearly as pricy premium wise. Any inputs are appreciated... Sarcastic or not!

Before you can sell whole life, you have to be sold yourself. Right now, based on your post, I can tell... you aren't sold.

However, I'm also "not sold" on non-participating whole life... which is probably what you've got with AIL.

The only way I could rationalize a non-par product... was that it could be a substitute for someone's group life insurance with a level premium. Also good for older people who may not be able to qualify for other products (Final Expense sales).

Term is not appropriate for a final expense solution. Check out the FE forum for more details on that.

If you want to REALLY sell whole life, you need to be with a company that has a great whole life product, such as NYL, MassMutual, Ohio National, etc.

Once again, I'm new to the biz. I just wanted to hear some thoughts on whole life. I get that for some people WL is a great product but for a majority it's not. The company I work for pushes straight whole life. No matter what the prospects needs are -- they want us to sell them whole life. They don't even want us to offer them term because it's not nearly as pricy premium wise. Any inputs are appreciated... Sarcastic or not!

A $1,000.00 AP of Whole Life cost the same as $1,000.00 AP of Term and a $1,000.00 AP of a Blended plan.

Find the problem(s), build a solution up to their budget for the solution to their problem(s).

The job of the ethical life insurance agent is to:

1) Determine the need (face amount).

2) Determine the best way to pay for it.