Transitioning from SI WL to Fully Underwritten Term

antireed

Expert
Hey all!

I am a recent veteran of final expense -- mainly writing simple issue whole life products for senior citizens. I've become pretty accustomed to setting an expectation on price. Really, unless you overlooked something in their medicine cabinet or answered a question wrong, you usually knew what they were going to pay down to the penny.

However, I recently made the switch to fully underwritten term life policies focused more towards income replacement and mortgage protection for people of all ages. The first thing I noticed was how cut and dry price quoting is...not. It seems that there's a lot more wiggle room for underwriting to mess with the rate. Even if I get a client in the correct risk class, underwriting can still jack that rate up to 4x what I quoted to my client with my software (specifically, I'm mostly writing Trendsetter with TransAmerica).

Basically I feel like I'm shooting from the hip a lot more when it comes to rate quoting.

How do I adjust accordingly to this?

Any suggestions for a someone making the jump from the "fixed limit Hold'em" of insurance (SI Whole Life) to the "no limit Hold'em" of insurance? (Fully underwritten Term)

Learn to not sell on price. It is a different mindset totally but that is how you make it outside of FE or MP or any type of programed sales.