What Did I Do Wrong?

Looking for some feedback from the veterans here.

My first foray into Mortgage Protection Life direct mail campaign.

The numbers:

861 pieces sent to new home purchasers in SC (last 3 months purchases)
$400 in expense

11 responses (response meaning someone who mailed the reply card back to the response center.....they'd given their names, addresses, smoker status, and DOB

2 are too old @age 65 and had no interest in burial policies

1 just wanted mailed info.....no phone number....I did mail, with no subsequent response

2 had interest but then wouldnt return calls to set appts

2 had bad phone info

1 balked at the cost (aged 57, disabled, with medical issues and recent surgeries)

1 insisted the PMI on their FHA deal included life insurance....and were indignant about it when I said it didnt (I am a mortgage banker by trade)

2 I am still working

My approach is this when I get a notification that someone has responded via mail

"Mr. Jones I just got word that you'd expressed an interest in our Mortagage Protection and I am gong to be in your area on Thursday, when would be a good time to get together with you and Mrs. Jones?"

The issue is I get so many cards back but once the dialogue begins they begin to hem and haw and don't seem interested at all, even though they've gone to the trouble to send back in the reply card.

I am open to any suggestions anyone may have, including whether or not doing Mortgage Protect is a viable thing or not.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Rather than trying to set an appointment immediately, ask them why they are interested and what their goals are. Get people talking instead of pushing them for an appointment. Establish some trust, then set the appointment.

By the way, you probably wasted two good sales on those over 65 by not having any other insurance companies to sell that aren't simplified issue. Even for a simple $100k term policy the premium would likely be over $1,000.