White Coat Syndrome

insurehound

Guru
100+ Post Club
Escondido
I have a prospect that has hypertension. Apparently to make mattes worse, his BP now skyrockets when he visits his doctor. It is controlled other than this issue but how do you prove that?

Not good for applying for Life Insurance. He does self report his BP reading at home which look good but I know what underwriters think...clients are all liars :)

Here's my question; is White Coat Syndrome a case of "uncontrolled BP"? I would think that if it skyrocketing when he's nervous when he sees his doctor then it's skyrocketing when he's under any stress. A good medication should help fix that in most situations. But what do I know, I'm just an insurance agent.

Either way, anyone know how underwriters look at this? Seems to me that this is a good way for an insurance to charge some more premium!

Does he take any medication?

Usually a doc will take a couple readings begining and towards the end if they sense they make the patient nervous.

I think your prospect needs to realize he has hypertension. What are his numbers, you can review underwritting requirements and go from there. You also haven't mentioned height and weight or lifestyle.

Yes, he has been diagnosed with hypertnetion and does take 5mg of Norvasc. But the problem is what numbers an underwriter will use...the 120s over 70s that are self reported or the 150s over 90s that he has at the doctors office.

Very tough to prove. Those numbers aren't all that bad for white coat syndrome though, and could still keep him near standard.

They do take up to 3 readings, and they can be spaced, but make sure the paramed company is aware of this issue.

I wouldn't waste time talking to underwriting about self administered results.