Whole Life with Massmutual Good Idea?

I'm a young mechanical engineer who is thinking about starting a whole life insurance policy with Massmutual for both death benefit and as a savings plan for the future. I've been working with an agent, and I've also read (well honestly skimmed, but plan to read) the book <i>Becoming Your Own Banker</i>. I like the idea, but I'm a little confused and I'm not sure what my agent is telling me is the truth, or if he even knows the answers himself.

I'm thinking about a policy probably around 500k (maybe $1 million). My agent tells me I can "overfund" the policy and this will somehow help the cash value. This is what I believe the Banker book is talking about as well. I am confused however basically on how this all works. I guess I've been ignorant all these years to how life insurance could have a cash value. I know my parents have policies that have cash value, but they don't have the kind of cash value my agent told me I could get. If there is cash value, where does it come from, and how much am I paying for the insurance? My agent gave me an amount for $500k, which seemed like a lot, but I'm told a portion of this is where the cash comes from. Is that true. Also, can I change the amount I put into it over time? My agent gave me a somewhat indirect answer on this.

A little information on me:

Mechanical Engineer, I'd tell you more, but it's government work so it's a secret ;-)

Married with a kid on the way

Currently life insurance coverage is through work.

I'm in my 30's.

Also, is Massmutual the best company to look at? I did a quick search but didn't find much.

Without knowing more about your situation and whether you have health issues, I will assume you are a healthy non tobacco user.