Whole Life Questions

slick_spe3

All:
Thanks for many of the informative threads I have read in this forum regarding Whole Life Insurance. I will give a quick summary of my situation and then post a few questions I have regarding other threads.
I am 29, married for three years and have a baby boy due in October. My wife and I have decided that she will be a full-time mother, so without her income, my annual income is about $80k gross with promotions and substantial salary increases possible in the next 5-7 years (I am an engineer). I only have life insurance through work which is 2X my salary.
I contribute quite a bit to my 401k and both my wife and I have maxed out our Roth IRAs since we graduated college (7 years). We have about $60k in cash savings and save about $1k a month net of other retirement expenses. The only debt we have is our mortgage for about $115k.
My first priority is to get life insurance with a DB of at least $500K now that I will have 2 people dependent on my income. The second priority is to develop a long term cash management strategy without creating huge cash flow constraints in the short term because having a baby in the house will be a new experience for us.
I have already met with a NY Life selling financial planner and came away underwhelmed. He didn't explain Custom vs. Traditional to me. He did not give me any tangible examples to demonstrate any of the plans (I tried and failed to memorize the numbers he quoted me). He did not tell me why a separate term policy was better or worse than a term rider on a whole life policy. And finally, to top it off, he let me leave the meeting without taking down ANY of my contact info. He will not be my agent (nice guy though).
Questions:
1) I have enjoyed BNTRS's description of the Guardian 10 Pay product. Is that something that would be affordable to me if I did a 250K/250K whole-term blend? Is 100 whole / 400 term smarter in the short term? What factors should I consider when considering this?