Why Do Suzie Orman and Dave Ramsey Trash WL So Much?

Mburns

Expert
Now, as a newbie, I certainly don't mean to start a flame war of any sorts.

But I'm trying to figure out why Dave and Suze so vehemently hate Whole Life Insurance. I've watched many videos where they say it's a sham and why term is the only way to go, buy term invest the rest etc...

What is everyones opinion on this? I am working in Texas so these kind of people hold a lot of sway. Not a ton, of course, since we still sell Whole Life without too much problem, but in the market I'm getting in to they practically swear by Dave and Suzie.

Any tips on how to work around this, or how to kindly point out to my prospects and clients why Dave and Suze are a bit off?

Last edited:
Now, as a newbie, I certainly don't mean to start a flame war of any sorts.

But I'm trying to figure out why Dave and Suzie so vehemently hate Whole Life Insurance. I've watched many videos where they say it's a sham and why term is the only way to go, buy term invest the rest etc...

What is everyones opinion on this? I am working in Texas so these kind of people hold a lot of sway. Not a ton, of course, since we still sell Whole Life without too much problem, but in the market I'm getting in to they practically swear by Dave and Suzie.

Any tips on how to work around this, or how to kindly point out to my prospects and clients why Dave and Suzie are a bit off?

Realize that you can't fix stupid :) and actually Dave Ramsey can be your friend in that he believes in having Health, Life & DI.

Whenever I speak to a Dave or Suzie fan I get into a short conversation about absolutes...I ask them if they believe everyones situation is exactly the same (obviously not) I explain that their advice is good for a vast many people then I get down to their situation and my recommendations.