Knights of Columbus LTC

Aren't fraternal organizations (like KC) in many states under a "different" section of the various insurance statutes such that they are not held to the same financial reserves or whatever than mutual (policyholder) and investor owned carriers?

(Honestly. It is just a simple question. Please don't reply with a personal attack about how stupid the question is or how mentally unbalanced one has to be to ask it. I admit up front to the moderator that I'm not an expert on LTC.)

Last edited by a moderator:
(Honestly. It is just a simple question. Please don't reply with a personal attack about how stupid the question is or how mentally unbalanced one has to be to ask it. I admit up front to the moderator that I'm not an expert on LTC.)

Actually, that's a stupid question and you are mentally unbalanced to ask it.
:D

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OK Al, just joking..............

Actually, that's a good question and I don't have the answer.

If I had to guess, they may be treated as a self-funded Trust.
I do not believe that Trusts have the same rules & regs as other carriers who fall under the jurisdiction of state DOI.

Last edited:
If I had to guess, they may be treated as a self-funded Trust.
I do not believe that Trusts have the same rules & regs as other carriers who fall under the jurisdiction of state DOI.

So do you think there might be more risk (or perceived risk) for writing LTC with a fraternal? That's how I look at it.

Given the volatility of the LTC (carrier) market I feel "safer" with companies that have a long history with this product.

(Disclosure: I don't write LTC... I "give" those cases to a woman who is an LTC expert... all she does... and we split the premium each getting whatever the comp % is... usually 60% (although she is agent of record.) Fair deal. I land the client... she does most of the work. It's "found money" for each of us.)

Al
You can find me here.