Health Insurance in Nevada

I wanted to start this thread for Health Insurance Agents and Brokers selling in Nevada. Each state has different licensing, rules and exchanges and it's always nice to share stories (good and bad), plus knowledge and ideas.

We can discuss Individual, Family, Small and Large Group, Seniors, Supplemental plus all the news that relates to us locally and nationally.

I was a registered cardiac nurse for over 15 years before becoming a captive agent at Anthem BCBS for over 5 years. After the layoffs from Obamacare, I started my own agency and also a private marketplace and am loving every minute of it. So let's share ideas and get creative.

I'll be posting a variety of stuff on here, some news, some ideas, some of it for agents, some of it for clients. I hope you enjoy it, can use it, and then contribute some of your own.

Sincerely,

ShellyRogers

Licensed Agent #560016
Nevada Insurance Enrollment Marketplace

New Health Care Terms…..Federal Poverty Level

Everyone has a “federal poverty level,” (FPL), even wealthy people. They just have a higher FPL. People that have a FPL of between 100% up to 400% will get some kind of assistance. Those that have a FPL of 138% up to 400% can go to the “Exchange” (online website) and get assistance with paying for their health insurance premiums, or, if you make less than 138% FPL you may qualify for Medicaid which is Free. The less money you make the more financial help you will get, the more money you make, the less financial assistance you get. If you make over 400% of FPL, you won’t qualify for financial assistance (AKA – subsidy.) You can buy your insurance anywhere you want, but if you want a “subsidy” you must buy the insurance on the Exchange if your income is under 400% FPL.

Definition: Network, Out-of-Network