Background Issue...?

Davis B

Expert
Hi all,

I have a Background issue that i was hoping i could get some candid (not wiseguy) opinion on getting my PC license and obtaining gainful employment with a PC company.

I lost my RE appraisers license back in 1998. My state audited my appraisal experience log and i could not locate one of the guys i worked for 7 yrs prior. The offense was not over a transaction. At the time, my dad was dying of cancer and i just could not locate my previous employer (whom i worked for 7 yrs prior....my mistake assuming i would be able to find him). Under pressure and bad advice from a Lawyer, i surrendered that license.

On the plus side, I studied for and passed the exam to get my Life, Health and Annuities license from my state in 2008. I disclosed what happened to my state licensing regulators and they allowed me to take the exam. I have been selling mostly Health to small groups and individuals since 2008 (been selling for about 4 yrs now). Haven't had a problem getting appointed with Health companies, nor life.

NOW...i want to move into PC and take the schooling (200 hrs in my state) and then take the exam.

I don't think the state will object (as i will disclose everything like i did previously) when i got my life, health, annuities lic.

MY CONCERN is getting a job with a decent PC company and hoping there will be no problems regarding this issue.

I know some of you guys may think ill of me...but I HAVE done my best...i'm not perfect (wish i was)...but this is an issue that i want to be honest and upfront about in HOPES of getting some good advice. Truth be told...i wish i could redo a lot of things but i can't. All i can do is be honest going forward.

Just wanted to know FROM some pros if there will be a problem getting a PC Job with that license issue from 14 yrs ago?

Thanks for any constructive input.

~Davis

Getting a job or getting appointed? Those are two very different things.