(?) General Information on Partnering with a P&c Agency

Apollo

I've been selling p&c for an independent agency for the past three years. I'm starting my own gig, but looking to hook up with an agency for contracts.

Anyone know the best way to go about this? What to look for? What to look out for? What % of commission in fair? Will I need my own p&C e&o or will I be covered under the agency?

I know forum etiquette and searched, but couldn't find this basic information.

I'm in California, if there are any agency owners in California with experience in this situation please let me know.

Thanks

If you don't have the contracts, then you are not starting your own agency, you are simply a 1099 producer for a different agency. They may let you "own" the book of business but sine CA doesn't enforce non competes, you technically own your book of business right now.

What is it you are looking for? A higher split of to truely own your own agency?

All I'm looking for is an agency to give me access to their companies for a piece of the commission.

Do you need their comparative rater, agency management system and E&O? How much premium volume with their direct/ profit sharing carriers can you deliver? These are the first few questions I ask when dealing with a sub producer. If I like the answers, then I want to know how they attract and field underwrite new business.

People think this is a simple process for an agency owner but we are putting our E&O, our profit sharing, our contracts and reputation on
the line with every sub producer we have working under us. To work with a good agency and have binding authority, you need to convince the agency owner that you know what you are doing and that the risk is worth the reward that you will provide.

No, I just need access to their markets. I would give a higher split if covered under their e&o, or I can just purchase my own.