Homeowners Commission, X Date, and A Few General Questions

Hi guys,

So, I'm new to the industry. Don't have any licenses or anything yet. At this point, I'm just doing my homework first before trying to decide where to focus on when I get started.

So I have a few question about homeowners policies

What is average homeowners commission? 10-15%? More or less? From what I'm reading people are saying that personal lines such as homeowners are not worth the hassle because of low commissions and that dealing with regular consumers sucks more then dealing with business owners. How many agree with this?

why do x dates matter? I get that it tells you when their policy expires, but is that really important?

If you give them a lower quote and they want to switch, can't they just do that? Or are there penalties for cancelling their homeowner policy early?

Has anyone written homeowners in the North (NY,MA,RI,MD,NJ)? What has been the experience? Living up north is really expensive so I would imagine the premiums are higher thus higher commision. Because of this I would assume homeowners would be interested in saving wherever possible. But northerners are also a rude bunch lol. When cold calling do you find that they are any more or less receptive than homeowners in other areas? In addition when calling is there a time that works better? I would imagine somewhere from 3-9pm since most would be working during the day. Or maybe calling for a few hours after 5pm or something...

Any and all input is appreciated. Thanks!

Commission on homeowners policies is usually somewhere between 10 & 15%. Some carriers for the first year may pay a bit better, but this is a good range to look at.

Most P&C agents would disagree with your statement about homeowners not being worth the hassle. Its usually the best policy to have on your books. Now, renters policies tend to not be very profitable for an agency.