Homeowners Deductibles

shonceman

Guru
1000 Post Club
Folks, I'm a life agent member of this forum. So I'm not up to speed on P & C, and my question is about my own homeowners coverage. I've had coverage with the same carrier for 10 years. I've stuck with them because of the way they took care of a couple of claims for me in the early years of the policy. Not anxious to change. But the original reason I went with them is that they used a flat dollar amount deductible across the board. Other carriers were applying a 1-2% windstorm deductible. Now my carrier has changed to offer only a percentage deductible of 1 or 2% regardless of peril. My agent says all carriers are now doing that. Is she correct? (I should mention that I live in Texas.)

I cannot speak to carriers the wright in Texas but I can tell you here in Pennsylvania not all the carriers are doing

Sent from my iPhone using InsForums

State by state decision even with in the National Carriers. Very common in Colorado for both personal and commercial property carriers. State Farm is has been doing it for a couple years now. you can take the option of .5% if you maintain the autos with the same carrier. Farmers does a split deductible as well. Think Hail and Fire Damage. I can tell you the advantage to the client is come renewal time you are not as impacted as a homeowner with a flat all perils deductible. In Texas? P&C carriers took a BATH in the last few years due to fires and mold. They are tightening up their underwriting rules and non renewing everywhere. As well, third party inspectors are being utilized to verify structure quality etc. A lot of homes are vacation homes in Texas, Arizona, and Colorado causing occupancy and therefore monitoring an issue. The days of $500 deducts are quickly becoming a thing of the past in some of the higher risk and higher value homes.