How Big is Too Big to Write

Indiana_Adam

Guru
100+ Post Club
For the independent commercial guys, how big is too big of a client?

As a newer agent, I've no niche market so am hungry and open to all business types/sizes. We have several large companies headquartered in our area. I don't want to impose a low ceiling on myself, but don't want to waste time reaching out to businesses that will never be within my scope of writing.

Do you guys/gals use any certain guidelines to help you determine whether a particular business is too large for you to competently write/service?

I'm by no names focusing solely on these large clients, as I would starve doing so, but I don't want to miss out on writing some big business either. Can't write it if your not in the running.

From my experience. The premiums $15,000 and below tend to stay on the books but call for a lot more service work - certificates, adding and deleting equipment and liens etc. $15,000 - $100,000 are a lot less service work as they are USUALLY settled but the other agents are constantly knocking on their doors. 100,000 - 250,000 in premium are usually special risks that only niche agents tackle. It seems to be a lot of service but they usually shop less often as it is a hassle for them. As for 250,000+ I'm unsure as I've yet to find one. I have developed a niche market for higher hazard risks that a lot of carrier's won't entertain (logging, drilling, small fleet trucking, critical auto parts mfg) By doing this I have been the "go to" for these clients in my area. The clients know it's tough to find a local agent that can provide them all lines so they are hesitant to even shop.

For the independent commercial guys, how big is too big of a client?