How to Break into Truckers Insurance

mboone

Hello I am a newly licensed insurance agent looking to get into the trucker insurance business. Looking for any advise please..

The following should assist you:

1) Have the lowest price all the time, they are a notoriously cheap bunch when it comes to insurance.

2) Assuming you don't have the lowest pricing each and every year be prepared to lose them, they will shop every renewal.

3) In between losing them each renewal be prepared to have a lot of service work. You'll need a good staff to keep up with it and to handle all the complaining and arguing they will do as well. Typically they think they know more about insurance than you do.

4) Watch your retention rates fall and your loss ratio increase. On the plus side you will be making some decent commission. (You'll need that extra money to fund the whiskey you will be driven to drink from the volatility of this market.)

Once you've read through this and if you are still inclined to chase this class of business then I wish you well...

Hahahahahaha ^ I love MrGolf's reply but definitely agree with him. Trucking is a hard class of business to chase. Make sure you have a good agency to back you. I wouldn't get started with this class unless you have an in house transportation guru to help you. Good luck!

^ I have a few solo truckers w/ Progressive & I just have them view/print certificates online at their website so it's kinda low maintenance (or so it seems thus far.) Is this more so for larger risks OR have I skated by lucky thus far?

Single until owner / operators aren't that bad. Few certificates, few or no claims. The large ones are a pain - endless certificates, MVR's, filings, claims, hiring and firing drivers etc.