How Do You Handle Drivers that Have No Current Insurance?

InsuranceBrah

Expert
I'm new to P&C and have been running into an issue.

I keep hitting drivers that have no previous insurance. Some have just refused to get it, sure. But I've run into cases where someone had Motorcycle insurance and the carriers don't seem to take that into account when asking for previous insurance. Another case a woman was driving on someone elses insurance but didn't have her name added as a driver on the policy. One girl is a new driver just looking to get started in life.

So far there is literally nothing I can do for these people. Even non standard carriers want at least $600.00 down as part of a 2 pay for a 6 month policy..

The lady that was on her sisters plan will have to pay $2100 down for a 6 month policy that's over $4000.00.

It doesn't help that I'm in Michigan where we have some of the highest rates in the country, and 30% of drivers are uninsured. This means that as of now I can't do anything for 30% of the population because they need thousands down to get started.

How do these people break the catch 22 to get the insurance in the first place to build that history of being insured?

I'm new to P&C and have been running into an issue.

I keep hitting drivers that have no previous insurance. Some have just refused to get it, sure. But I've run into cases where someone had Motorcycle insurance and the carriers don't seem to take that into account when asking for previous insurance. Another case a woman was driving on someone elses insurance but didn't have her name added as a driver on the policy. One girl is a new driver just looking to get started in life.

So far there is literally nothing I can do for these people. Even non standard carriers want at least $600.00 down as part of a 2 pay for a 6 month policy..

The lady that was on her sisters plan will have to pay $2100 down for a 6 month policy that's over $4000.00.