New Agent Needs Ideas

jahyatt

Expert
Thanks in advance for all the help.

I'm a new agent. I am licensed for P &C and Life.

I have been appointed and actually in business for about a month now.

So far I've sold about 30 units. That is about 8 home policies, a few life, and about 18 vehicles.

My marketing systems are as follows: I telemarket on Saturdays and a few nights a week. I have done a few direct mailings with phone call follow ups (I sent out about 250 letters with lottery tickets, which was my way of getting a conversation started). I have advertised in a few neighborhood news letters. I pay for internet leads through NetQuote (any opinions on that would also be appreciated), I have visted with apartment complex's (dropped of donuts and my cards), and am meeeting with a couple real estate agents and brokers this week and taking them out to lunch.

I DO NOT MIND WORKING 60 TO 70 HOURS A WEEK. I just dont know if I'm spending my time, and money, wisely.

Are there any other avenues I should pursue? I've been telemarketing on Saturdays, Mon (4-7), Tue (4-7), Thu. (4-7). I get about one bite for every 10 that answers. Is that normal? What do you people think about paying for leads? Meeting with agents and brokers, etc (what do you offer them in return for referring you to their clients)? I've had some people tell me the apartments are a waste of time, but I've cross sold a couple life policies there.....

Thanks again for any help.

Justin

I heard about an insurance agent offering free car washes at the local car wash if you do a free quote with them.

He said it work really well for him.

My feelings on this are pretty simple. I get paid to write policies. So all of my effort goes into writing policies. That excludes making phone calls, ($10 an hour work, pay someone else to telemarket) I'll send out mailers the day the percentages of closing gets better,