Possibility Of Starting My Own P&C Brokerage

G

Hello forums,

I've been floating around reading all the useful and insightful information around and am curious about the possibility of starting my own P&C brokerage as soon as I'm finished with my licensing. Before some of you start this is not a "how do i start a brokerage?" question but more so a feasibility question where I hope people will help me think about future road blocks that i have not thought through yet. So here we go....

I have a lot of experience in new client acquisition and retention as my current occupation is B2B cold call sales. I also have a lot experience in recruiting and training of individuals to expand my business come that time. I am thinking about starting my own brokerage. Now most people will say after licensing, get a job working with a broker and learn. Aside from learning how to write up apps, product knowledge, and sales experience i don't see what the point of splitting commissions with someone else as I am already proficient at 2 of the 3 and learning PK is easy. My plan is to contract with a company like Superior Access, until i can establish my own direct appointments, and using my knowledge of client acquisition and direct marketing techniques build my book of business. I don't mind dropping $3000 on E&O. I plan to start by doing auto with friends and family just to learn how to write apps and develop a system, not as an intended source of income, before i start actually marketing to the general public. I plan to primarily target my markets directly and quote over the phone so i will be working from home. I know its not supposed to be easy so my question is what flaws do you see in my plan? Thanks!

-Raphael

Raphael,

Be prepared to starve for at least 2 years. I'm not aware of any P&C agents that started independent selling only P&C, with 0 policies and are still in the business for 2 years.