What is a Fair Salary/comm Split for Newbies?

Rick Deckard

Guru
100+ Post Club
I have a lot of sales background and experience, also college educated although I don't think have a 4 yr degree matters in terms of money because ultimately success and failure will be based on my decisions.

The agency I am connected with and have already made a little money for is eager to make me a full time employee. To this point I have just made a few cold calls a few hours a week and actually have helped these folks close some business from the lay down leads I pass on to them.

I would like a base salary for a little while as being a P&C agent takes time to make those commercial connections. In the meantime I plow ahead with personal lines.

What is a fair split with say a $35k salary 1st year? Eventually I want the salary to disappear once I have a small book and can make somewhere in the 6 figure range from renewals and obviously new sales. My goal long term is to build a book of somewhere in the $3MM-$5MM range so on Jan 1st I know I am going to make 6 figures before I even expand or bring in new business.

Am I way off in my thinking? I read 50/25 splits as pretty standard. I would like a little more, maybe 30 on the back, eventually 60-70 on the front when i have less salary or no salary.

And tips or advice would be most welcome.

Thank You!

I would say you are perhaps being overly optimistic about getting those types of commissions WHILE taking a salary (unless it is a draw against your commissions). With a salary of 35k, I would offer you MAYBE 20/20. My advice would be to set that 35k up as a draw against future commissions and go for 50/50

I would say you are perhaps being overly optimistic about getting those types of commissions WHILE taking a salary (unless it is a draw against your commissions). With a salary of 35k, I would offer you MAYBE 20/20. My advice would be to set that 35k up as a draw against future commissions and go for 50/50