P&C Agent Prospecting Mortgage Lenders

cjones

I am a new agent trying to gain some traction. Obviously the best way to build a book is by referrals. I am wanting to prospect to the local mortgage lenders in my area to try and earn some homeowners business and then cross sell auto. My company has about the best rates in town, but unfortunately we don't advertise. Therefore I made up a flyer and was going to go around passing it out. My question is, has anyone done this before and are they very receptive to it? Im guessing they like the agents better who cater in lunch for everyone but I can't quite swing that right now.

I passed out 500 flyers didnt get a call so I stopped wasting ink. What I started to do is build relationships with selling agents. I have a foot in the door because both of my perents are real estate agents.

Most real estate agents love to eat at Chilis. Take them there and present what you offer.

The key is finding a good real estate agent, not just finding any old real estate agent.

Real estate agents usually leave their business cards at local businesses. Pick one up and give them a call until you find one that is receptive. One on one relationships is better than a flyer. Find 3 or 4 realators this way and you should be set. You can cultivate more if you want, but too much and it becomes hard to manage.

I also tried leaving flyers at real estate offices along with some goodies. Huge waste of time and money.

How do you find real estate agent's to talk to?
Soaringagent...how do you get your clients? You can think of real estate agents as your clients. That should answer your question.

And, please don't take this the wrong way, as I am not trying to be rude...but I'm quite surprised that a salesperson would wonder how to find someone to start a conversation with. You are your own walking billboard...'nuff said.