Help: Insurance Only Getting 65

perk44

I have been an insurance only producer for nearly 16 years. Selling Medicare supplements, final expense, long term care and annuities. I plan on getting my 65 very soon. I understand the difficulty of setting up your own RIA. At this time I have no desire to do so. I would like to be an IAR under a RIA. Do any of you have a recommendation on a RIA? I'm looking for a place that has experience in working with someone coming from an insurance only background.

Thanks in advance

There are a few that specialize in this area.

1. POM Planning / Horter Investment Management

2. FAN Advisors

3. Redhawk Wealth Advisors

I think FAN Advisors would have the lowest fees to the IAR than anyone else. I think it's a $50/month technology fee, an annual fee of $95 + state registration fee... and that's it. Their E&O is on the firm level, so you don't have to purchase E&O.

I'm not contracted or registered with any of these three, but they are whom I'm checking out and I'm leaning more towards FAN Advisors.

Thank you. I will check all of these out.

I would not recommend Horter. I've been to his "training" and never go to an RIA that charges 2% for their "strategies". Active investment management is the pitch and is definitely not the approach for someone that doesn't even understand call options. Stick to an RIA that has a good basic investment approach with LOW FEES.

I don't know enough about Horter... but generally there are two parts of AUM fees: advisor relationship compensation & money manager fees. I look for active (tactical) management bundled about 2%.

When compared to most mutual fund expenses (about 1.25%, but no discretionary authority and must invest according to the prospectus) and variable annuities (about 3-3.5% and stuck with portfolio models)... I think 2% is quite reasonable.

But that's my opinion.

if you are near 65 now an IRA is nearly useless.
If you have a pile of cash, you might look at an annuity??????