Should I Use My Pension or Buy Insurance?

csalter

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I placed this question on Bogleheads and they thought I was an insurance agent. I had to explain that I was just a regular consumer. Anyhow, since this is an actual insurance forum, I thought I would ask folks here since you probably are more familiar with pension maximization.

Here is my scenario. Should I buy life insurance or take out one of the joint survivor options when I retire. I have about 10 years to go and want to make sure that my wife and I will be able to live comfortably in retirement. I am 52 and she is 38 She has about $90,000 in her 401k and IRA's combined. I have about 40K in mine. We have a home valued about $500,000 in today's market and my mortgage still have 20 years on it. We both have longterm care.
Should I buy life insurance or take out one of the joint survivor options when I retire. Here are the numbers. If I take out the single annuity option I would receive $9786/month or $117,432/year. I have 3 options to provide my wife with a joint survivorship benefit. I can give her the 100% option where we would both get 7861/mo or $94,332/year. Or the 75% option where I would get 8383/month or $100,596 and she would receive upon my death $6287/month or $75,444 or I can choose the 50% option which would give me $8828/month or $105,936 and she would receive upon my death $ 4414/month or $52,968/year. My pension has a 2% simple benefit adjustment factor that they provide each year. It is not a compounding COLA. However, they do make adjustments to ensure that they purchasing power of the pension stays at 80%. I understand what that means, but don't know the specifics. It is documented though.