As Earned Commissions Vs. Advanced

Advanced if you can afford to do it. I just started doing it this year and I love it.

Once you get the pipeline going, as earned is the only true way to justify what you are doing on a monthly basis. t hall

I am more with thall.

I think if an agent can dial back the advance 10-25 points every quarter or six months. He will be at a point that he is not chasing that advance. Maybe keep one company at 75%. But the goal should be level income.

Just my 2 cents.

As a agent I preferred to take advances when there was no financing charge. Now as a manager I have large bills to pay for leads and offices so I do not have much choice but to take advances now.

Quite telling on how successful our boy Jim might be. He needs advances to pay for leads and offices. Sounds like his "team" isn't selling too much insurance.

Wonder what would happen if Jim had a few chargebacks.

By the way, he was first licensed 3 years ago so we can understand why he needs advances.

Is this the kind of guy with whom you want to contract?

Rick

As earned. Something about that level dependable income month after month. Even if advances are free of finance charges they are a "limiter" to most agents.

This is more of a financial question. As-earned will aways be the logical choice if you have the financial ability.

Outside of having a spouse capable of paying the household bills on top of marketing costs, it's pretty easy math.

If you're net profit per client is $500 and you can write 3 deals a week, here's the math:

$500 X 3 = $1,500 per week X 4 weeks = $6,000/mo. Divide that by 12 months and you're earning $500 per month.

Month 1: $500
Month 2: $1,000
Month 3: $1,500
Month 4: $2,000
Month 5: $2,500
Month 6: $3,000
Month 7: 3,500
Month 8: 4,000

...Month 12: $6,000

So if you need at least $3,000 per month and don't have enough cash reserves to last 6 months then you have to take advances.