Educational Events, Mailers, and Lists

I'm interested in starting to host educational events. First of all, does anyone have any luck or experience with this? I first need to
1) Get a list of addresses of people turning 65 in the area I am holding the event.
-I've never purchased a t65 address list before. Where is the least expensive option to purchase a list of just addresses?

2) Print a Mailer
- Which company will mass print a mailer at the best quality for the lowest cost?

3) Combined say if I send a mailer out to about 1-2k people T65 in an area, about how much out of pocket for just the list and the mailers am I looking at?

4) Has anyone done this before? If so how many RSVP's did you get? IS IT WORTH IT?

I've been a broker for quite some time, but just recently went independent. This means I have to do my own lead generating, and I need some help from anyone who knows some tricks on hosting seminars/educational events. Thanks!

I know a guy that is doing very well, you may know him too. Seems you're finding out how tough and expensive it is to "do it yourself".

She didn't work with me, but I know the agency she got ran off from. Outstanding guy that gave her a chance and we'll just say her character is less han spotless.