Getting Started in Supps

kpbdy99

Super Genius
Every time I've almost decided it's time to expand into Med Supps, I talk myself out of it. Leads aren't a problem for me, but I'm a technician - I want to know everything before I'm comfortable doing anything. I don't want to sell 25 a month or specialize in it, I want to be competent enough to be a resource for the folks who are currently referring other lines - LTC, life & DI - to me on a regular basis, and to offer it to my existing clients.

Based on the venom-spitting and teeth-gnashing I've seen on here about the few established sources for Medicare Supplement / Medicare Advantage sales training, it seems like the only way to get started in this is to just pick a couple of carriers, learn the heck out of their products, and start selling.

I've been told by a couple of guys in my area that they sell supps, but they don't sell Advantage plans or Part D. Is this common? Thanks.

Every time I've almost decided it's time to expand into Med Supps, I talk myself out of it. Leads aren't a problem for me, but I'm a technician - I want to know everything before I'm comfortable doing anything. I don't want to sell 25 a month or specialize in it, I want to be competent enough to be a resource for the folks who are currently referring other lines - LTC, life & DI - to me on a regular basis, and to offer it to my existing clients.

Based on the venom-spitting and teeth-gnashing I've seen on here about the few established sources for Medicare Supplement / Medicare Advantage sales training, it seems like the only way to get started in this is to just pick a couple of carriers, learn the heck out of their products, and start selling.

I've been told by a couple of guys in my area that they sell supps, but they don't sell Advantage plans or Part D. Is this common? Thanks.

Yes, many agents sell Med Supps and leave the MA and PDP alone because of the rediculous rules you have to follow.:yes: