Help! Phone Sales - Some Basics No One Talks About

Itstheloa

Expert
Hi everyone!

I spend quite a bit of time searching this forum and reading all the opinions/advice. However there are some things I need definitive answers for. I'm sure it'll do wonders for my self-imposed angst ;)

I'm a new agent, have YIO and Frank's training ( :( .. ) , have read and read but - and I apologize if any of these questions are silly -

- Paper applications: most seniors do this? Am I filling it out with them over the phone, mailing them the filled out application, and have them mail to the Insurance company themselves? Anyone do this process differently?

- I've read some people say they don't go into private medical info however I reviewed these applications which clearly ask for specifics. I'm guessing the "pre-screening" questions are the ones that don't get too specific? Anyone have a method they are willing to share?

- Payments: Am I taking credit card/banking info over the phone or are they attaching this or a void check to paper applications that I mail them? Any recommendation in being professional and helping someone feel secure in providing such private info over the phone?

- Any way to create a work flow where I ensure applications are submitted? (instead of leaving it to the senior to submit) I would think me submitting to the carrier ensures that the ball gets rolling

- MAKING SURE they cancel their other med supp carrier after 30 days (I am targeting 67 and above). I get that it is not the agents responsibility to cancel. But the horror stories about seniors having 2 coverages at once for as much as 2 years has me nervous. How do you handle this and ensure you cover yourself?

I just want to make sure that I am being responsible and respectful of people's private information. I don't know what the protocols are here and worried about starting:1baffled:. Cold calls are scary enough as it is without the "sounding-like-a-bumbling-fool" bit.

Thank you guys!