Med Sup Pros---"is this True???"

Mike Siegal

Guru
100+ Post Club
I'm a newby learning Med.Supp products. AND, had a couple of questions (if someone would be so kind).
  1. Can you sell or switch someone who's on a Med Advantage product to a Med Supp plan "before open enrollment?"
  2. If the insured is are already on a Med supp, can you switch them from one insurance carrier to another during the year (outside of OE)???

(i suspect the answer to 1, is NO---you have to wait until open enrollment to change them---but i'm no expert).

Anyway, thanks in advance!

~M

1. NO, unless they have an sep reason.
2. Yes as long as it benefits the client, ie: more benefits, less payments etc.

Can you sell or switch someone who's on a Med Advantage product to a Med Supp plan "before open enrollment?"

No. Unless They Moved outside the service area, Have state Drug assistance, or got MA for 1st time after dropping a Supplement and are still in 1st year of MA or after getting MA at 65 and are still in 1st year

If the insured is are already on a Med supp, can you switch them from one insurance carrier to another during the year (outside of OE)???

Same answer as MedicareAgent But to add IF they can pass the underwriting

Knowing the underwriting and which carriers have underwriting Niches is where you earn your living many times

I'm a newby learning Med.Supp products. AND, had a couple of questions (if someone would be so kind).
  1. Can you sell or switch someone who's on a Med Advantage product to a Med Supp plan "before open enrollment?"
  2. If the insured is are already on a Med supp, can you switch them from one insurance carrier to another during the year (outside of OE)???

(i suspect the answer to 1, is NO---you have to wait until open enrollment to change them---but i'm no expert).

Anyway, thanks in advance!

~M