Med Supp Feedback from the Pros: What Are You Looking At?

just some f.e.llow

Guru
100+ Post Club
My background is med advantage and final expense. Certainly I understand MedSupp, but never from the perspective of someone who sells them consistently.

What are the medigap pros looking at when they decide which carrier to sell? I'm guessing you're looking at price first, then underwriting second (or you can flip flop no. 1 and 2), and lastly I would guess is rate increase history. This is what I'm getting from reading old threads here at the forum.
What else would you encourage looking at when deciding who to carry in my bag, and who to sell?

My background is med advantage and final expense. Certainly I understand MedSupp, but never from the perspective of someone who sells them consistently. What are the medigap pros looking at when they decide which carrier to sell? I'm guessing you're looking at price first, then underwriting second (or you can flip flop no. 1 and 2), and lastly I would guess is rate increase history. This is what I'm getting from reading old threads here at the forum. What else would you encourage looking at when deciding who to carry in my bag, and who to sell?

Choose a company that makes your life easy, has competitive current premiums and pays you well for your work and business costs. Move away from that company only when you need to. It's not complicated.

Reasons to trigger away from your main:

1. Won't approve case but other will
2. Client's current coverage is with old version of your main or sister company (won't pay you).
3. Not price competitive in certain age bands
4. Pays bad for GI business (if another company pays better for GI and is not way out of range on premium)
5. Client is strongly pre-sold on a Specific brand (sell them what they want unless it's a horrible choice)

These are pretty much the rules I live by.

One last rule, when your main goes nuts on rates (they all do eventually) get a new main.