Move from FE/MA to Med Supp---your Advice?

Nom.de.plume

I have been doing MAPD and FE for several years; MAPD is seasonal and FE has rejection rates and cancellation rates that make it a headache.

I worked AEP this year with another agent that specializes in Med Sup. I have shied away from them due to the much smaller commissions--but as he said they are easier to sign up and they almost NEVER cancel.

The IMOs I have talked to are the same routine as FE- $400 for DM drops etc

Are there any carriers/IMO that will work with you on the lead cost to get started? I dont want to lay out a lot of cash for something I find later does not work well (Has happened to me in FE a number of times)

What are your experiences? I am leaving this open ended--I want to know what you know, not asking for a specific answer.

I very much appreciate your input!

Direct mail for MAPD is tough because the only real target you have throughout the year are turning 65s. If it were me, I would get all my ducks in a row for next AEP and keep selling FE until then. If you get with the right FMO they can help with leads etc.for both times of year. I started in FE and transitioned over to both about a year in the business because my main area has a 40% or so MA penetration.

My IMO is a buddy of mine and he takes good care of me, but he is local to me. I would suggest Neishloss and Fleming, Berwick. Or Ritter.