New CMS Rules

I recd an interpretation that this is for the writing agent only. If you have a GA contract you may get more.

Whatever it is, it is not good for the agent. I have a GA contract for my primary company, so it remains to be seen if that means anything.

I recd an interpretation that this is for the writing agent only. If you have a GA contract you may get more.

Whatever it is, it is not good for the agent. I have a GA contract for my primary company, so it remains to be seen if that means anything.

I got that same info. Since I am a writing agent, this was not good news. I have some companies paying less than $400. I sent them an email asking if they would move their's up. I already know the answer. This doesn't work in both directions.

This came from an FMO that I will leave unnamed....

"To date, these new regulations (commission caps) do NOT affect the up line over ride commission for GA, MGA, etc. in any way.

This “cap” only applies to the actual writing producer’s portion of the commission."

I guess what bothers me about this agent compensation issue is that it seems to never be brought to a conclusion.

Seems CMS is continually going after this issue because it is a "soft target". If agents were not in the mix, the plans would be spending more for advertising and hiring "home office" agents with very questionable results.

I would think the issues of double digit increases in drug pricing, cutting drugs off formularies, doctors and hospitals not accepting coverages (especially in the middle of the coverage period), 50% + cost increases by plans, and many other problems would take priority over what salesmen are being paid.