Pros and Cons of FMO's?

Asptins

I'm new to the insurance business and I was wondering what the pros, and cons of working with large FMO's are and what other agents views were on this topic. I would love for some seasoned agents to inform me on there experiences.

I'm new to the insurance business and I was wondering what the pros, and cons of working with large FMO's are and what other agents views were on this topic. I would love for some seasoned agents to inform me on there experiences.

Worthless cog in the wheel of selling insurance.

Depends on your situation. Do you have direct appointments? Are you captive?

Worthless cog in the wheel of selling insurance.

Explain more in detail?

----------

Don't want to have production requirements and would like the services of an FMO but wanted to know what are some things FMOs don't do that would be more benifitial for agents

----------

Don't want to have production requirements and would like the services of an FMO but wanted to know what are some things FMOs don't do that would be more beneficial for us.

Last year a PDP carrier tagged me with a violation because they claimed I did an enrollment with a client in person on their consumer-facing website. They had surveyed enrollees who enrolled that way about whether the agent was present. Thinking they were referring to the med supp, which I did do in person, not the PDP, which was done by sending him a link by email, he told them I was there to help him. He misunderstood what they meant and months had passed.

I provided documentation to the carrier that I was in another state the day the enrollment was completed and gave them the copy of the email the client sent me letting me know he completed the enrollment from the link I sent him. They would not contact the member again to clarify. The violation stood and retraining was required.