Should I Become a UHC Captive Agent?

Sky

Currently I'm an Independent Broker contracted directly with some carriers and contracted with other carriers through an FMO. Yet, I've noticed a few of the Captive Agents under United Health Care (UHC) did over 100 Applications for AEP 1/1/2017. I spoke to the Broker Manager about joining as a Captive Agent. He said he would give me leads, assist financially with some marketing, and if I did seminars for them they would be advertised in the news paper.

Yet, I like and want to remain The Boss of what and when I do things. I don't want him to suddenly start treating me like an employee because I'm a Captive Agent. Also, I'm not sure about canceling my UHC contract with the FMO to go under UHC with the Broker Manager as a Captive Agent.

What have been some of your experiences as a Captive Agent? Or what should I be aware of or ask the Broker Manager with UHC, before canceling my FMO contract to be a Captive Agent?

Currently I'm an Independent Broker contracted directly with some carriers and contracted with other carriers through an FMO. Yet, I've noticed a few of the Captive Agents under United Health Care (UHC) did over 100 Applications for AEP 1/1/2017. I spoke to the Broker Manager about joining as a Captive Agent. He said he would give me leads, assist financially with some marketing, and if I did seminars for them they would be advertised in the news paper.

Yet, I like and want to remain The Boss of what and when I do things. I don't want him to suddenly start treating me like an employee because I'm a Captive Agent. Also, I'm not sure about canceling my UHC contract with the FMO to go under UHC with the Broker Manager as a Captive Agent.

What have been some of your experiences as a Captive Agent? Or what should I be aware of or ask the Broker Manager with UHC, before canceling my FMO contract to be a Captive Agent?

You can't have your cake, and eat it too. :no: