Veterans and Medicare

plannerman

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
What do you do when approached by a veteran who is turning 65. The general statement I get is that they would use VA for most of their services but they tend to want options in case the disagree with the VA. We generally agree on putting an MAPD in place but some will go all out and say they only want VA for mess and take a supp. Are you aware of any negatives by putting a veteran on an MAPD, besides the usual downfalls that come with them.

I am not aware of any negatives. I'm a vet and vet benefits and I'm on MAPD. I stopped using VA a few years ago. My copays on MAPD are cheaper than VA copays for the same drugs. Also 2 of my drugs at Walmart are $10 for 90 days whereas they would cost $24 through VA.

I have had vets purchase just a sup and use VA for drugs.

Last edited:
What do you do when approached by a veteran who is turning 65. The general statement I get is that they would use VA for most of their services but they tend to want options in case the disagree with the VA. We generally agree on putting an MAPD in place but some will go all out and say they only want VA for mess and take a supp. Are you aware of any negatives by putting a veteran on an MAPD, besides the usual downfalls that come with them.

PFFS works well with VA in case they prefer using VA, but need a backup. Just don't mess with anybody covered with Tricare.

If I remember right when I was selling MAPD if a client is ex-military and has Tricare then signs up for a MAPD he will lose his Tricare benefits.
Tricare is much better because he can use it anywhere in the US compared with a MAPD which has a limited area.

VA will tell Vets---VA benefits are annual budget items--Medicare is entitlement. Congress can vote up or down or even OUT of VA benefits--but cant with Medicare

Some vet clients don't even bother with Medicare---why spend $105 a month for what they get for free?