Advice on Med Supp Appointment Setter

blackandyellow

I never have hired an appointment setter before. I have recently been referred to someone who is also calling for other agents in different fields but has 6 open hours a week. The cold calling has been done mainly by myself, business is picking up, which is great. But, it doesn't allow me as much time on the phone to set new appointments. This appointment setter charges $20/hour and then for every sold app he wants $50. From what I've read on these forums it seems a little steep. But, since I have no experience with this I thought I would ask for help? Any feedback appreciated.

That is very steep.
Paying hourly, $10-$15 per hour is average. Most don't pay bonuses for writing apps, but it could be a good idea to encourage better work. I wouldn't go over $20 per app.

It's totally up to you and what your willing to put forth. For someone who does a good job it might be worth it for you.

It does seem a bit steep but if he has you running quality appointments. I could see it making sense.

Can he fill your entire week up in those 6 hours?

Thanks for the feedback. The appointment setter says he can get atleast 2 appointments an hour which would be atleast 12 a week. I know its always "you get what you pay for" in this business, but I think it's worth a trial run. It's not the initial $120 i'm hesitant about its the time wasted going to these appointments if they don't pan out.

With insurance marketing, it's all trial and error. Some things work well for others and not so well for me and vice versa.

Seems as though you could ask the person who referred you to this person as to the quality of their work.

If he says at least 2 an hour then tell him $10/appointment and if he does any better than 2 an hour he's making out great.

$50/sale isn't a commission split in your state? That'd be illegal in most states.