BOE Vs. Key Man DI?

Full Throttle

Guru
1000 Post Club
Midwest
Key man disability: I have two DI cases open right now, still trying to get a feel for this product and where it fits. Both cases are similar, the owner has group STD/LTD (that I wrote) up to a $6,000 max monthly benefit. Both owners with profits down the last three years, don't have enough income to do a DI wrap and are only taking out W-2 income right now. Both agree that if they got laid up for 12 months, their business would be take a financial hit.

BOE would be an obvious option, but if I were laid up, the idea of receiving a lump sum like a key man DI policy would be appealing. Most BOE policies don't go past 12 months (or 24 months) anyways. Anyone ever put much thought into this? Opinions?

Not that I am a DI expert by any stretch, but it seems like you are looking at two products that serve completely different roles. Also, I was always under the impression that lump sum DI was rather expensive, while BOE is fairly cheap.

I remember one wholesaler telling me that the buy/sell DI was so expensive and underwritten so tightly, he basically just told people to go without. I would assume a lump sum key man policy would be treated similarly.

Key man disability: I have two DI cases open right now, still trying to get a feel for this product and where it fits. Both cases are similar, the owner has group STD/LTD (that I wrote) up to a $6,000 max monthly benefit. Both owners with profits down the last three years, don't have enough income to do a DI wrap and are only taking out W-2 income right now. Both agree that if they got laid up for 12 months, their business would be take a financial hit.

BOE would be an obvious option, but if I were laid up, the idea of receiving a lump sum like a key man DI policy would be appealing. Most BOE policies don't go past 12 months (or 24 months) anyways. Anyone ever put much thought into this? Opinions?

They both could be viable options.