Cobra Policy Changed - I was not notified

quarryherring

I went to go to the doctor today and they told me I owed $200 for the visit. Typically I paid a $50 copay, so I asked why such a large amount, and they told me that I now had a $5000 deductible. My insurance plan never had a deductible as it was called a "copay" plan. But it seems they have switched things on me behind my back. I never agreed to such a deductible plan when I signed up for the health insurance. In fact I chose the copay plan instead of the deductible plan when I original elected coverage when I was employed.

It looks like the plan must have changed at the beginning of this year for whatever reason. I was NEVER given any notification of this change or else I would have cancelled the cobra plan immediately. I have been paying for a plan I did not agree to for 3 months. This has to be illegal and neglectful behavior by both my previous employer and the insurance broker who provides the benefits right? Someone should have at least sent an email, letter, or phone call right? I just wasted $650 a month for the last 3 months if they dont refund these premiums. This is some crooked business if you ask me.

Does anyone out there have any knowledge about such a matter?
Thank you in advance for any info you share.

Your cobra plan mimics whatever current group plan current employees have. If choice was only high deductible, then that is what u get too. U should have received notification of it. You may be or probably are stuck for 2019

You can cancel your COBRA at any time. No refunds. Open enrollment material would have been mailed by your former employers COBRA administrator during last years open enrollment.

Voluntarily dropping COBRA does not create an SEP which would allow you to buy an Obamacare plan.

(caveat, not an insurance agent. Comments based on personal experience with Cobra through two open enrollments.)

What Somarco said.