• Yes, stop working for peanuts

Votes: 2 50.0%
  • No, scale back hours gradually

Votes: 1 25.0%
  • Propose a commission split to the owner

Votes: 1 25.0%

• Total voters

tgmnsales

I am a health insurance agent and I have my own book of business (Individual, Medicare, and small group), in addition I work 25 hours a week for an agency as a licensed agent (W-2). I write individual and Medicare business, very little administrative duties, I am mainly there to work as a licensed agent. Initially, four years ago, I started working part time for the broker while I built up my book of business after leaving a large company as a captive agent. Working part time allowed me to have an income coming in (plus the agency needed help). Now, my book of business income has exceeded my W-2 income. I would like to scale back my hours from the agency, however, the owner may be retiring soon due to health issues and they will need my Medicare expertise. I am paid hourly with no commission, bonus, or profit sharing. I was told recently by another retired agent, that I am "grossly underpaid" and that "they are getting a deal with you". I realize now that I should have insisted on higher increases over the years and undervalued my expertise. I calculated that I would need a 64% raise to be on par with the "hourly rate" I am earning with my own book of business based on the hours per week I put into that book. I will note that one of the agents at the agency will take over for the owner and buy his book of business.