aopc

I am on my way to getting my P&C license. Although I do not have prior experience as an agent, I have a pipeline with new business already established and will be taking over a small book of business ~$500k premiums/annually, exclusively in commercial auto.

As a new IA, how difficult will it be to obtain direct appointments with carriers that provide commercial auto? Specifically, will carriers be looking for certain minimums, such as time in business, # of policies, and/or total premium amounts in order to qualify for and obtain an appointment? What is the average length of time to get an appointment for someone starting with a small book of business? What are the average producer minimums for direct carrier appointments?

I have also read that networking with carrier reps is extremely beneficial. Any tips for a newbie on the best way to find and network with carrier reps, either online or through joining industry groups and attending industry events?

Many thanks for any insights!

Many insurance carriers are switching to make their agents independent so many carriers are looking for independent agencies right now. Not sure if they are dropping the need for experience over the need to have more placement. Nationwide Insurance agents were flooded with requests to sign as independent agencies with different carriers once their company plan took effect.

AOPC,

You are entering at a tough time in a tough nitche. What kind of Commercial Auto? Commercial trucking/ long haul trucking- an even bigger up hill climb that will be close to impossible.

The 500k in WP is small so not much to leverage there for new appointments. Your Experience is nill and carriers are worried about a guy like you blowing them up after getting killed for the last decade.

I had a friend tell me. When you are losing money by the truck loads, you don't got get a fleet of bigger trucks. You go get the tonka trucks.

There is much more to be said on this thread.