Do you recommend opening an agency with Goosehead?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 5 100.0%

• Total voters

Amelia22

I am looking to open my own independent agency (P&C) and have been exploring network options. My background is captive, so I would like to partner with a group that can offer support starting up in the Indy world and get me access to competitive carriers & products. Goosehead has been popping up all over the place, can anyone tell me whether they are worth looking in to? decent splits? do you own your book? I'm concerned that their contract / model will be totally geared toward corporate profit, not the individual agency. and how is client retention with their service center handling everything? any input is appreciated! thank you!

can anyone tell me whether they are worth looking in to?
I think they are worth "looking at" - but I do not know if they will be the right decision for you and for others. My understanding, and this could be wrong or dated, is that they handle the back end of the customer side. You sell it and they service it, but take a chunk of the comp. [ please correct me if I am wrong ]

Additionally with all of these MGAs/ Clusters/ Etc - I would go over the contract with a fine toothed comb. Have a friend, Have a Lawyer, review it over and over.

I’m currently with PGI. I left my corporate agent gig almost 2 years ago and went out on my own. I spent a metric ton of time betting out all the different aggregators including goosehead. For me they were a hard no. For others they may be wonderful. After all the dust has settled, I must say that I could not be happier with my choice….full steam ahead.