Homowner's Policy

Mavrik

Guru
100+ Post Club
I'm in Florida and I'm completely frustrated with my homeowner's insurance agent. Her office has dropped the ball several times over the past 2 year blaming inept office help that she claims has been fixed. Since I work in the business, I've tried to be understanding but the amount of time I've had to put into doing her job is ridiculous and it's potentially going to cost me additional premium. I've learned more about my homeowner's policy than I wanted so its a blessing and a curse. In years past, I would speak to my agent once a year. Over the past 2 years, I've spent more time on the phone trying to fix stupid mistakes that lead to the carrier threatening to cancel me mid year if I didn't pay a 20% increase above my original premium. Please help this Life Agent understand how to fix his homeowner's insurance.

The agent quoted me last spring and I payed the annual premium in full. Then all of a sudden I got a notice from the carrier six months later saying I owed an additional amount of premium or my policy would be cancelled in 30 days. I immediately contacted the agent. It took a month before they got things straightened out and blamed an inept office employee for using the wrong quoting software. She went on to say they would straighten it out at renewal time. I didn't realize at the time this probably meant they were going to pay the charge in October and recoup it from me when I renewed my policy this spring. I should have left them right there but I figured I would give them the next six months to fix things out and it would be easier to shop around when the policy came up for renewal.