I Passed My Exam, Now What?

Candymouth

Hi everyone. I had discovered this forum when I was deciding on what license to go for, and loved it. I loved the real and no bs advice! I just passed my CA Fire and Casualty Broker-Agent exam today. I had a few questions and any help/advice would be great.

I have no insurance experience. I am currently a SAHM, five years ago I was a kitchen designer at an orange home store for five years and am ultimately looking to work out of my home office selling insurance.

I immediately hope to work for a certain lizard until the market gets better (we own a construction company) and I get a better hold of the insurance world.

My questions are these, and of course being completely ignorant are ignorant =)

1-How can you get appointments? How in the world can you learn what to do as an agent/broker without actually working under one?

2-Do you get paid once an application is approved and monthly or ...?

3-What is the best insurance to sell, I live in a small town, that has several large allstate, state farm type offices and a few brokers for a town of about 50,000.

4-Is buying leads and cold calling the only way to start?

5-Please someone give me a clue so I can stop being so annoying! I am a workaholic and am used to being self employed, so working endlessly to make a living is not a problem for me and is to be expected.

Thanks so much, sorry to ramble!

I would strongly recommend the following:

Don't try to start on your own. I did that and I wish I hadn't, and I had written a book and several magazine articles on marketing. Plus, not knowing all the ins-and-outs of the business mechanics is just begging for a lawsuit or compliance problems.

Work for a company that can provide REAL training and REAL support. They'll all interview you, and you should be picky and interview them, too.

Plan on staying there a while. Planning to leave from Day One will do nothing but distract you, and this business is difficult enough as it is.