Independent agent Commissions for ACA and ancillary benefits?

Dan OBrien

Expert
I’ve been working for a company for two months now as a w2 agent, and we sell ACA and ancillary products. I’m currently making $14/hr base, $10 per ACA application, and commission on the AP for ancillaries. The commission rates are 15%, 18%, 21%, and 25%. Each rate is determined on how much I sold the month prior.

if I were to go independent in a year or two, what kind of pay structure should I expect?

I think ACA pays 20-$30 per member. Ancillaries just depend on the product. Not sure if that helps.

I’ve been working for a company for two months now as a w2 agent, and we sell ACA and ancillary products. I’m currently making $14/hr base, $10 per ACA application, and commission on the AP for ancillaries. The commission rates are 15%, 18%, 21%, and 25%. Each rate is determined on how much I sold the month prior.

if I were to go independent in a year or two, what kind of pay structure should I expect?
Ancillaries can be up to 65%-70% FYC with 15%-20% renewals depending on the company and the product. Of course, you loose your $14 base and are straight commission.

Yes up to $30 per member per month depending on the carrier . It’s become very lucrative. It’s a very easy add on sale in the fe mkt for those making $20-$50 k a yr with no health insurance . I added 7 lives or $175 a month in commission last week alone while selling other items . The mkt has expanded big.

Yes up to $30 per member per month depending on the carrier . It’s become very lucrative. It’s a very easy add on sale in the fe mkt for those making $20-$50 k a yr with no health insurance . I added 7 lives or $175 a month in commission last week alone while selling other items . The mkt has expanded big.
I know that $240 - $360 per year sounds pretty good but I remember the days we got paid 40% - 50% of the premium first year and 15% renewals on Major Medical..