Introduction from an Artificial Intelligence expert

daviddlewis

Hi - Random consumer here (homeowner and small scale real estate investor). Just joined to ask a question about homeowners insurance. I'm an expert in artificial intelligence, and happy to answer any questions about that in return for help.

Regards, Dave

Huh - I had actually posted the question first, but I must have done it before confirming my account. I'll repost.

Huh - I had actually posted the question first, but I must have done it before confirming my account. I'll repost.
Seriously (that was a joke to Mark), I hope that you get your question answered because I'd be really interested as to your opinion on AI writing website content for technical fields like insurance.

I've seen some AI produced web content (and even music!) on some sites and the writing is becoming indistinguishable from a human.

How long do you think it will take for AI to write articles that sound human-generated in a technical field where the writer relies more on expertise than their writing ability?

AI tools could easily be built, and probably are already in use, that could write fluent, but low quality web content pieces. (Similar to what low paid writers produce for content farms.) There's lots of discussions on the web about GPT-3, which has been used to generate fluent text given a prompt.

Writing high quality material is beyond current technology. By "high quality" I mean pulling together just the most important and relevant information, drawing connections between those pieces of information, providing meaningful examples or metaphors, or any of the other things that would make us recommend a piece of writing to someone else.