Is it okay to not know everything when starting out?

Kay2427D

Hello. I am a new independent agent with a Life and Health license. I am focusing on Medicare products only right now. Starting out has been a bit rough for me. I have no experience or background in sales. Actually, I have no work experience. I've been unable to work due to disability. My only income has been from my monthly disability benefits. Last year, I decided to try working but I did a lot of research on what kind of job would best fit my limitations. That's when I discovered being an independent insurance agent. I liked that it can give me some flexibility by being able to work from home and/or in person. Fast forward to now, I have an upline and FMO and I'm contracted with eight carriers. My problem is that I tend to feel like I have to know everything and be the most knowledgeable before I can attempt selling. Unfortunately, I can be a perfectionist who tends to fixate on every detail. I have yet to make my first sale. I've been reevaluating myself and wondering if my fixation with being "perfect" is actually holding me back. If I'm being honest, there's still a lot about Medicare and Medicare products that I find confusing. Or certain concepts that are difficult for me to remember. I do go back and review these areas of concern. It wasn't that long ago that I passed AHIP (about two months). But it still seems like my brain didn't retain everything. I guess I'm just wondering if this is normal for new agents. To other agents who went through this, how did you overcome it? What steps can I take to build my confidence as an agent? Or is it more of a 'you learn as you go' approach?

The accelerated way to learn... is to continue to work with prospective clients and 'stumble' your way through.

Continue to reference your material. If you want a good training resource, I'd recommend you check out @Todd King website: