John Hancock Long Term Care is a Scam!

tlmarketing

Guru
100+ Post Club
As an agent, I never sold LTC as I just did not believe in its value....and my beliefs have now been confirmed!

I have a family member who is terminally ill, and you think that it would be a relatively simple process to qualify under the policy...think again!

It used to be said that John Hancock hardly ever raised their rates....for good reason because they stonewall your claims..

Hey John Hancock - **CK OFF!!

Sounds like your family member had as much fun as my brother did getting is disability checks after a stroke so major that he could not move or speak.

I have a family member who is terminally ill, and you think that it would be a relatively simple process to qualify under the policy...think again!

I'm sorry to hear about your relative, but contrary to your statement, qualifying for LTC services IS a relatively simple process.

There are 2 ways to qualify for benefits:
1) Require assistance in performing any 2 of the 6 activities of daily living for a minimum of 90 days or,
2) Have a diagnosis of a cognitive impairment, when help is required to protect the policyholder's safety & welfare.

The way to qualify for benefits are clearly stated in Hancock's policy. A diagnosis of "terminally ill" by itself is not enough of a reason to qualify.

I know this is not what you wanted to hear, but as with any insurance product, nothing is hidden, it's in the contract.

I have a family member who is terminally il....

Does this terminal illness:
  • prevent them from getting in and out of bed
  • prevent them from feeding/bathing themselves
  • prevent them from getting on/off the toilet
  • prevent them from transferring from one seat to another
if the answer is YES, grab an attorney, then sit back and watch the insurance company wriggle. If the answer is NO, then they do not qualify for LTCi benefits, yet.

Arthur,