Not Sure What Medigap They Have

jn8691mr

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I am just beginning cold calling and understand I have a learning curve ... I've talked to a few people who do not know what they have ... How would I find out what plan they have? Is it on their card?

Have a good quote engine like CSG ready to go and probe

How much is premium, Most people know what they are paying regardless of the fact some try to say they don't

What is the name of Ins carrier

Do they pay copays or deductibles

I am just beginning cold calling and understand I have a learning curve ... I've talked to a few people who do not know what they have ... How would I find out what plan they have? Is it on their card?

It should be. You could also find out which company they have, their age and premium they pay. Then look it up on CSG, it might not be exact if they haven't had the most recent rate increase...it should be close enough to tell which plan they have.

A lot of clients have an Advantage plan, but think it is a supplement. If they have a Part C or Part D plan, you can look it up on Medicare.gov. They have to be willing to give you their Medicare number, their dob and the date they got Part A.

Go to personalized search on the page below.

https://www.medicare.gov/find-a-plan/questions/home.aspx

This won't tell you anything about any supplement plan they might have, although if they have a PDP and a supplement it will give you the information on the PDP.

I think it is about a month behind, so you may not see any recent changes.

Ask them how much they pay when they go to the doctor and/or use other services. That's a great way to fish out a supp vs a MA plan.

Call the right areas and you'll get less of that.

Although when I'm calling areas with some MA penetration, (under 20%) I'll will look up the area I'm calling on Medicare.gov. In more rural areas, sometimes there will be only one or two MA plans. Name drop them just to make sure their not on one of them.