Series 65 (RIA) pros and cons to your production/income/happiness?

honestabe

I am studying for my Series 65 license to build AUM. Currently Life and Health licensed in 7 states, focusing primarily on annuity and IUL business.

To those who have moved from being "just an insurance agent" (personally, I have loved being "just an insurance agent"), to one who can receive comp for financial advice, etc...

Has your insurance production faltered or increased, intentionally or not, as you build AUM?

For the effort and costs you put forth, how beneficial has it been to your practice and bottom line? In plain words, has it been worth it to you?

The one thing I should note is that I am very much a believer in the "scientific retirement" approach when it comes to retirement income, that of the Drs. Wade Pfau and Moshe Milevsky (among others) teachings/data, and I believe I will attract more annuity business by going after new customers in my AUM quest, and also capture AUM from my typical annuity clients. While it's great to write a $500K income annuity, I can't help but notice how much AUM I have missed out on over the years.

Thanks in advance for any help you can lend and wisdom you can hand down.

When I look at the planning I do - which is centered primarily around whole life insurance - I don't want to leave the funding accounts with another advisor. I want to either transfer them to an annuity and/or to AUM.

Knowing that annuities have limits on premium... it's good to know that I have another way to serve the client for larger asset relationships. However, my goal is that I DON'T want my clients to be paying fees continuously for the rest of their lives.

It's not about the "title" as I've been marketing myself as a tax exempt wealth educator. I believe in promoting yourself by the problems you solve as opposed to the products you sell. Very helpful positioning when you're looking to work with the more mass affluent.