Software Engineer with Insurance Experience

Hi everyone,

I'm new here, I have my 2-20 and 2-15 in Florida, I used to be in the industry many years ago but have been working as a software engineer since I graduated. I've been interested in starting my own agency with a marketing software idea I have however in Florida the home insurance market is terrible and from what I've been advised is not worth pursuing my idea unless I can get appointed with loggerhead which seems to be next to impossible without an existing agency. I'm considering if maybe the best course of action is to look into other States. I'm considering Texas but I have no idea what the home insurance market looks like there. If anyone has any advice on how I can best go about getting a clear picture of what things look like there I would greatly appreciate it.

All the best,
Ernesto

Hi everyone,

I'm new here, I have my 2-20 and 2-15 in Florida, I used to be in the industry many years ago but have been working as a software engineer since I graduated. I've been interested in starting my own agency with a marketing software idea I have however in Florida the home insurance market is terrible and from what I've been advised is not worth pursuing my idea unless I can get appointed with loggerhead which seems to be next to impossible without an existing agency. I'm considering if maybe the best course of action is to look into other States. I'm considering Texas but I have no idea what the home insurance market looks like there. If anyone has any advice on how I can best go about getting a clear picture of what things look like there I would greatly appreciate it.

All the best,
Ernesto

Find a landlocked state with no tornados and no forest fires and no floods.

Hi everyone,

All the best,
Ernesto
In what world does a software engineer want to become an insurance agent?

That's like a surgeon deciding to become a family physician.