Starting own agency- any advice is appreciated!

Maxxh66

Hey all! This may be a long read but your help is appreciated!

This is my first post on this forum and I’d like to start off by thanking everyone for providing tons of knowledge, information, and support for the industry.

I’m hoping I could get some insight and advice for starting my own agency. I am currently a Partner with one of the top life insurers in the industry and have been with this company for 6 years. I have nothing bad to say about my company as I would not be where I am today without all the training and support I have received over the years. By all means I don’t want to sound as if I’m bragging as I know there are many successful agents on this forum, but I’d like to give a bit of background info about me so that you may be able to give me better insight or advice.

I was an agent for 2.5 years before getting promoted to Partner (manager). I never was a high case rate writer but I offered a variety of services from life insurance, long-term care, annuities (fixed, income, variable), mutual funds, setting up employer benefits (401k, group life, group disability,etc), and so forth. I currently have my Series 6, 63, 7, 65, and 24 and will be finishing up my ChFC course by year end. I have been a Partner for a little over 3 years now and run a team of ~10 agents. I became new Partner of the year in the company during my first year and overall I feel I am running a successful team. Last year our team did approximately $400,000 in life premium and $2M+ in rollovers (yes, production seems low if it’s divided amongst 10 agents but unfortunately there are slackers on the team).