Suggestions on Alternatives to Using Cell Phone for Calls?

undisclosed

Expert
I don't have a landline and have been going over my minute allowance on my cell phone lately. I have no experience with any of the VOIP options. I have a pretty good internet connection, but it's wireless (don't know what sort of effect that may have). Cheaper is better, but not if it means a noticeable decrease in call quality or frequent lost calls.

Any suggestions?

Magic Jack sucks big time. Terrible.

Nettalk is much better and about as cheap. It also can connect directly to a router so you don't have to keep your computer running.

Rick

I use Vonage and I like it. Their connections used to be pretty static-y so many people stopped using them. They seems to be much better that 2-3 years ago and a whole lot less expensive than AT&T.

For Pete's sake----get unlimited cell phone with no contract needed. They're all over the place and you can keep your current number if you want.

METRO PCS, BOOST, VIRGIN MOBILE, CRICKET, all have unlimited cell phone use all over the country. No contract, unlimiited maximum minutes, one flat rate per month.

Metro pcs is around $35 a month. Boost starts at $50 and each 6 months if you make your payments on time it gets lower like %50 to %45 to $40 to $35. Cricket is $35 or $40 a month.

I use mine for hundreds of calls per week using Callfire. You won't have any trouble.

I did use Vonage and liked it a lot. Trouble is I had to use COMCAST who was up to $60 a month at the time and Vonage was on top of that.

Now I pay $45 to BOOST and last year I drove from California through Arizona, through New Mexico and through West Texas on to Houston, back through Austin, Dallas, Tucson, Phoenix, the desert again, and back. Phone worked the whole time in remote areas.

Last edited: